Carscatbelly & Sousa Night Marches

The sidewalks always
feel weird under foot
this wrecked late hour.
You in your cool
nightdress
and
warm lips
have left me again
with those
gloomy woodshed blues.

The neon signs like
music play a ragtime
suite. A beggar holds
out a hand like a
broken instrument
hanging in the doorway.
He is teaching redbrick
desires and I am going
star-hitching
playing birdlike
circle anxieties
in this dark
dark
hour of the night.

I hear drum rhythms
broadcasting
contemplation
blasting marches
go flapping collars
downtown my head
is marching.

Posted for dVerse– Under the Influence of Music.

12 thoughts on “Carscatbelly & Sousa Night Marches

  1. It happened to me more than once…star hitching happens when we trip in love, and the song is the same blues melody each time..lonely yet strangely comforting music…nice.

  2. “You in your cool
    nightdress
    and
    warm lips
    have left me again
    with those
    gloomy woodshed blues.”

    My favorite part her in contrast of comfort and bliss of love..

    to those gloomy woodshed blues.. that most of us.. have tried to describe to others..

    when visiting this place in the journeys of life.. that aren’t so bright….but still a worthy part of it..:)

  3. This took me down dark alleys in Greenwich Village looking to score some jazz. Great wordplay here with my fave being, “A beggar holds out a hand like a broken instrument
    hanging in the doorway.” I love this poem!

    Cheers,

    Mark Butkus

Leave a comment