Haunted by a Ghost of Me

I am a phantom to myself,
and oh how I do haunt me,
both day and night.

Rattling rat a ling chains
and
shrieks sh rie ks in
the night.

Scary sleuthing
sleuth in g scar y
Something scary
some th ing scare eye

I watch myself
(a ghost)
float on by, bye bye b y e b y e
myself in horror, my head in
my hands.

Rattling rat a ling chains
and
shrieks sh rie ks in
the nigh
nigh t.

Things fly across the room

Scary sleuthing
sleu th in g scar e e
Something scary
some th ing scare eye

I watch myself
(a ghost)
float on by, bye bye by e b y e
myself in horror, the horror
head in my hands.

I swear I am alive
ALIVE
A live
A lie
maybe (?).

Late at night I haunt myself
my self m eye s elf
a spect er in the dark d ark.
My darkness dark ne ss
filled f ill ed
with shriek ing moans mo an s,
and as I lay l a y myself m e
to sleep I’d pray p ray
the Lord Lor D
my soul so ul
to keep,

(just like my Momma
Ma ma taught me)

but I am no longer certain
I can
(can I ?)
pay that fee.

7 thoughts on “Haunted by a Ghost of Me

  1. Are you kidding me with this brilliance? I’ve only found one other person who writes like this, and I hold on to her for d(ear) life. You wouldn’t believe the deep s(ighs) of relief I’m exhaling, having found one m(ore) of you. Seriously, I’m so thrilled to be here.

    The most telling dissection is “d ark,” “de-ark,” as in feeling separated from your Sunday School No(ah)-roots. Always, always, there’s the internal spiritual struggle. For a poet/artist of any sort, it’s hard not to feel torn between the inner light and inner darkness. A ghost haunting, indeed.

Leave a Reply

