Old Movie Monsters & Me

Sometimes late at night
night when I drink
more than I should
and I’m racing with the headlights
and the moon. I feel just
like old Dracula did
crawling back to his tomb.
He wanted to escape the
morning light ’cause he knew
the sun would burn him up.

Sometimes when I’m out swimming
after a long hot lonely day.
I feel just like that old creature
just wanting to touch a
face, but the beauty was
denied him, and like him
I sink below the surface
of a black lagoon.

Sometimes when I’m out walking
I feel as if in a daze.
I’ve got layers wrapped
around me
protecting me.
I don’t want to talk about it
because I’m afraid
that with just one touch
I’ll unravel like that old mummy
might have done.

Now there are nights where the
only light I’ve seen is the moon-
to the left of me is a part of me.
Beautiful and full of hunger and
a chill then I know
just why that old wolfman was
howling on and on.

And I run.
And I run.
And I don’t know
what else
that I
can sing.

So I guess what I’ve been trying to
say, but maybe not saying at all
Is that without you around the days
are rough and the nights long,
and I feel just like all
those old monsters
out bumping in the night
’cause really each in our own way
we’re all searching
for that same thing.

Leave a Reply

