It’s All One in The End

The guardian of that freethinker!
Oh, my God!- it’s horrible I
always regarded him as a
tare among everything,
everything.

Then suddenly serious a
worm into an apple, eating
his wife? Till there was
nothing left for him.

Incredibly strong!

I wanted to run away
rather than bite off
your own leg then
you lay there like
a snake
wide awake
as a master-
you scorned me.

I tried to use your
conscience- make you
look at yourself in
the water that I
lay in.

I tried to swim
down, down
till I reached
your hands
like giant crabs
ready to seize
my very soul.

Not one- no
trace of the
poison that
lies there now-
like me silent
calm
unconscious?

Brilliant- it’s
night
or
day-
summer
or
spring.

Hear how he’s working
away. Are you
happy
or
miserable?

Unable to be free-
he’ll cut you too-
motionless like
a stork waiting
to strike.

Pounce on your victim,
you have a bad
conscience. People
call it the rattrap
on their way home
from the theater-
you sit there
innocent.

You do your duty,
calculating your
opportunities
and
shipwrecks
like a goddess
reclining.

I know you’re
unhappy
hurt-
after all it
was you who
taught me
to drink.

2 thoughts on “It’s All One in The End

  1. I think that’s what you call an OUCH! ending. A very very belated return to your blog; I’ve been on a bit of a sabbatical writing “a borrowing of bones” but back to blogging with a lot of wonderful sites to catch up on. Hope you enjoy a walk through my Mexican village, I’ll be posting the poems through the first week of February.

    • Definitely an OUCH! ending, brother. Thanks for returning to my blog- as you can tell I’ve taken a bit of a sabbatical myself hence no new entries for awhile, but they will be coming. Can’t wait for the new poem! Peace.

Leave a Reply

